Internet
Domain Name Hijacking
Last
Update: 03/26/2006 by tpl@ieee.org
What
do you mean that mst.com domain was hijacked?
- It all started when our Web
Hosting ISP (www.hawkcommunications.com) went out of business or acquired
by somebody around May/June 2005.
There was a ‘dark’ period that our web hosting services were in
limbo. (Note that I checked on
03/16/2006, this company came back and now becomes an Atlanta-based
company.)
- Somebody got hold of the
‘hosting’ service and got hold of email services for mst.com and (email)
automated transfer of domain from register.com to onlineNIC.com took place
on 6/11/2005. The “Admin Contact”
was tplee@mst.com.
- By chance, this “tplee” user
tried to upload/ftp a few pictures to the mst.com web site on
7/22/2005. Nothing worked and with
all passwords exhausted, this user tried to access ISP’s web and admin
site; the web site for the ISP had a page equivalent to ‘stand-by and
under construction’. With google
search, he found a couple of notes about hawkcommunications was out of
business and/or was bought out by somebody else. Out of distress and absolute disgust, he contacted some
other ISP to do web hosting. That
was www.maum.com for now.
- Things did not happen as
expected. This tplee user
contacted mst.com domain’s registrar register.com and he was told that the
domain was transferred to onlineNIC.com on 6/11/2005. The 60-day rule would not allow the
domain to move any further. Even
if this tplee user wanted to initiate the transfer back, he has to contact
onlineNIC.com to do it and with the “Admin Contact” email tplee@mst.com. This is fishy enough and won’t work to get it transferred
back, and he was advised to file a complaint with ICANN/InterNIC, which
had the oversight authority.
- In the mean time, this tplee
user found that there was suddenly a for-sale page on www.mst.com and he was desperate. He took a screenshot of this page and
used the browser “view page source” feature to save the content and
identified where the form would be submitted. In this desensitized version, say, http://www.ppppppservice.com/form.asp. Actually, this was a sign of neophyte
thief, he/she can do better by using everything from the hijacked mst.com
site. He even sent an email to tplee@mst.com (the for-sale sign contact)
asking “Hi, T.P., are you there? How are you?” and got a reply a day later
saying “Yes, what’s up?”. This is
the closest contact to the cyber thief.
The WHOIS database by now was mangled with a fake phone number
+1.2403270207. The city and state
and zip code got changed to Marshall, KY US 21157. Unfortunately, if you look for what
city is actually covered by 21157, you’ll find that Westminster, MD is the
place. The WHOIS database also
shows that iiiiHost.com (desensitized) was the owner of the mst.com domain
and this was either a reseller or a customer of the registrar
onelineNIC.com.
- On 7/27/2005, this tplee user
filed a complaint to interNIC, and he also searched for ‘Internet Domain
Hijacking Fraud” and the like to see how to get help. He found IFCCFBI site and filed a
complaint there. At that time,
there were 10,000 complaints filed each month. Today, this authority is called IC3 (Internet crime complaint center) and FBI.
- On 7/29/2005, this tplee user
finally got email reply from onlineNIC.com support folks, and he informed
them about the filed complaints and possible fraud, they agreed to disable
the web server for the mst.com domain.
No more for-sale sign when this was done.
- On 7/29/2005, register.com
domain support folks suggested to have the domain locked during dispute
and investigation. On 8/1/2005,
domain was locked by the new registrar and onlineNIC.com suggest arbiter
WIPO http://arbiter.wipo.int/domains/
to look into this.
- On 8/2/2005, this tplee user
looked into this arbiter service and found that he needed to spend between
$1000 and $3000 for this. He
decided not to do this and filed an update to both agencies and sent the
copies to onlineNIC.com and indicated that he would wait for the agencies
to investigate the criminal case.
- On 8/14/2005, this tplee user
was happy to see the WHOIS database was updated and that the mst.com
domain was transferred back to register.com with “locked” state and the
content was restored to that with the previous ISP hawkcommunications.com
data. My interpretation was that
onlineNIC.com considered this complaint was valid enough and decided to
transfer back to avoid further involvement this is case.
- Although the web hosting
services did not work right away, it was a pleasant event that the domain
was finally transferred back. It
took some time to do proper identification and convincing with the
registrar register.com to get things done. But, we had no complaints to register.com and we were
indebted to support folks there for pulling us through this mess,
specifically, David, John, Jennifer, Blair, and Sara at register.com.
- New web hosting services
started on 9/9/2005 for mst.com again.
How
can you protect your domain from being hijacked?
1. Ask
your registrar to "Lock Down" your domain. Don't allow it to transfer with automated email acknowledgements.
2. Put a
robust email address for your Admin Contact of your domain. Imagine that if any of your registrar, your
email address provider, or your web hosting ISP went out of business, can you
easily find a replacement and fix/update your information? Go through every scenario.
3. Save
the paper documents on invoices, payments for the domain registrations, web
hosting ISP statements and so on. They
are helpful to document your standing and ownership when your service providers
are temporarily out of services.
4. Keep a
journal and log on major events with your domain transactions, for example,
date and person(s) you talked to and URL locations and some short summary on
the conversation or email exchanges.
Snapshot or save the pages of interest and print a copy with the usual
date and URL on the footer as documentation.
This is a difficult issue since the content of the URL page can change
over time and you’ll have nothing to show if you don’t keep anything.
Need
to File A Complaint?
1.
ICANN/InterNIC http://reports.internic.net/cgi/registrars/problem-report.cgi
2. Internet Fraud and
FBI compaints@ifccfbi.gov http://www.ifccfbi.gov/ This cyber space criminal field
is changing fast, search for the latest authorities if you need to file
complaints. As of this update, this
authority is changed to Internet crime complaint center http://complaints.ic3.gov/.
Good
Practices before You Buy:
1. There
is no domain title insurance as far as I know; be diligent in checking out the
domain information and the owner information for the domain.
2. You
need to talk and negotiate with a real person and with a real name. Avoid getting stolen domain names, which are
the same as stolen goods.
3. WHOIS
information: call the phone number listed there and talk to them to
confirm. Do ZIP code and city and state
actually match? The WHOIS database was
mangled by this thief at one point and have the phone number changed to
+1.2403270207 and there is no ring when I checked. The City and State and Zip code get changed to Marshall, KY US
21157.
Unfortunately,
if you look for what city is actually covered by 21157, you’ll find that
Westminster, MD is the place. Is this
not enough for you to get suspicious?
The whole point is that the thief does not want you to contact them in
these venues and leave a trail for law enforcement agencies.
4. If the
registration provider is outside the country with phone numbers like
+98.07116267488. You probably should find
other means to contact them. In
general, for universal domain names, i.e., not country-specific domain names,
you should expect to contact someone in the US or other countries with
reasonable law enforcement protections as your fallback positions.
5. As an
example, when this thief using the www.mst.com
page to put a for-sale sign. You should
“view” the content of the html page and save that away. I find that the “form’s SUBMIT button using http://www.ppppppservice.com/form.asp
to process the form submission. Visit
that site and see what you can find and learn and contact. Note that I use pppppp so as not to direct
point to the site I found.
[End of
text]